Sunday, December 18, 2011

Sunday Drive 12-18

Here we go!!! It's time to hop on and take a Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere! I hope you're all ready to link up and hop! Please follow at least 2 people, as well as the hostesses and BOW...

I know next Sunday is Christmas, but I do try to post the hop on Saturday evening anyway... I didn't tonight because of my 100th post... But, I will be posting the hop next weekend, for those of you who want to hop :)
Also, I'll post it for New Year's as well!

Okay, let's get right down to it.

This weeks BOW is:




Hellofromthekings

This is a lovely blog about a family who wanted to keep their family up-to-date on their lives when they moved out of state. Now, she enjoys sharing her recipes, and lots of other fun stuff! Make sure you check out her super cute blog!

The rules are simple...

1. Follow your hostesses, Through the Eyes of a Tiger AND My Crazy Life, as well as the Blog of the Week (BOW) listed above. If you're new to our blogs, leave us a comment and we WILL follow you back! 
2. Enter your link(s) in the hop below. (If you're linking your blog, please link ONLY your main page) Link up your blog, Twitter and/or Facebook! 
3. Follow at least 2 other links... The more links you follow, the more followers you get!
4. Leave a comment stating that you're from the Sunday Drive Hop, and make it RELEVANT to the post you're commenting on (PLEASE)
5. HAVE FUN!!! 


If you'd like to be our Blog of the Week, simply fill out the form under the BOW tab at the top of the blog! We'd LOVE to showcase your blog, and make you a mandatory follow!




100th post!!! I can't believe it, but I've already reached that 100th post, and I wanted to do something to commemorate this moment! I was going to answer 100 questions about myself, but I'm just honestly not very interesting, so I decided to go with 25 questions about myself, and a few other lists of 25 things! I hope this is much more interesting!

What is your name?
Crystal

What is your favorite color?
Purple and Pink

What's your favorite food?
Chicken and Rice

If you could go anywhere, where would you go?
Ireland

What is your favorite movie of all time?
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

What about your favorite show?
Cupcake Wars!

Favorite drink (alcoholic or non)?
Margarita!!!

Where do you like to shop the most?
Walmart... Affectionately referred to as "Hell"

What is the name of your best friend?

What is your eye color?
Blue-Gray

What is one thing you could not live without?


Favorite animal?
Striped Dolphins

Relationship status?

What's your favorite clothing item?
Something comfy

Who are you with right now?

Who is your celebrity crush?
Ian Somerhalder

What's your best feature?
I like my eyes

If you could describe yourself in one word, what would it be?
Scatterbrained!

How do you feel right now?

What is one thing you're involved in?
Homeschooling!


Okay, that was 25 random questions... Now for 25 things I've learned about blogging...

1. My posts aren't read as often as I would like, but that's the life of a blogger.
2. Anything I say CAN and WILL be taken the wrong way by someone, so as careful as I try to be, I can't make a post without stepping on any toes.
3. The more boring your life is, the more you have to work to make an interesting post.
4. I have met some of the coolest people, and seen some of the most awesome blogs since I started! 
5. Knowing that I will attempt to make a post before the day ends makes me want to do more interesting things with my day... 
6. Those bloggers who get the awesome giveaways like Kindles and iPads have worked their rear-ends OFF to get where they are, and I've got serious respect for that!
7. The giveaways that I really expect to take off don't do as well as I thought, and the ones that I am concerned about do better than I thought they would.
8. Manipulating the HTML of your blog can be a VERY scary experience... and when it goes wrong, the panic that ensues is NOT lessened by the fact that you downloaded your template.
9. Blog hops gather lots of links, but no one reads the rules.
10. Finding cute backgrounds for your blog for free is NOT easy.
11. You can contact 15 companies and only hear from 1 or 2...
12. Getting readers isn't easy
13. There's a wealth of information on blogs, and it's fun reading!
14. I have no idea how anyone can make a blog about only 1 thing, and keep it interesting. It's not easy.
15. A blog can be a great way to express the things you can't explain out loud.
16. Getting comments lowers your Alexa ranking
17. I need to get business cards to share my blog address.
18. Self-hosted blogs are more appealing to companies, but making it worth it isn't easy.
19. Nothing about blogging is easy.
20. Doing special events for your blog is hard work
21. I've been trying to write this post for a while, because I knew this was coming
22. Writing a blog can show you exactly how uninteresting you are
23. People are much more willing to be rude or crass online than in person.
24. Keeping your readers happy is hard!
25. Coming up with 25 things about ANYTHING isn't easy!!!


Okay... How about 25 Useless Facts?! I know all kinds of stuff that will never be of use. LOL

1. The first product to have a barcode was a pack of Wrigley's chewing gum.
2. Daylight Savings is not observed in parts of Arizona and Indiana.
3. Every time you lick a stamp, you consume 1/10th of a calorie...
4. Ants appear to stretch and yawn upon waking.
5. 1 in every 4 Americans has appeared on television in some way or another
6. That dip below your nose is called a philtrum.
7. There was never supposed to be an answer to the riddle "Why is a raven like a writing desk?" but because he was inundated with requests for the answer, Lewis Carroll finally made one up. The answer? "Because it can produce a few notes, though they are very flat. And it is 'nevar' put with the wrong end in front!" Unfortunately, and editor caught the misspelling, and not the joke. It was printed as "never" instead.
8. According to some studies, people with naturally red hair have a higher tolerance to pain.
9. The average human can only access 10% of their brain at any time.
10. Da Vinci could write with one hand while drawing with the other. I think he was using more than 10% of his brain.
11. Birmingham, Alabama is the only place in the entire world where significant amounts of the three minerals needed for steel production can be found in close proximity.
12. After sending frogs to space, scientists learned how frogs vomit. They vomit their stomach out of their mouth, and using their forearms, scrape the offending content out of the stomach, and then push the now empty organ back into their mouth and swallow it. Yummy.
13. Dolphins sleep with one eye open.
14. Men's buttons are on the right side because most people are right handed... Women's are on the left, because women used to be dressed by maids, most of which were right handed. They would face the woman they were dressing, and thus, the buttons were placed for their ease of use.
15. You should cut the stem of a rose under water, because the stem will inhale when cut, and if it inhales air, it will start to wilt faster.
16. Your thumb and your nose should be the  same length. (My thumb is longer)
17. According to legend, the wedding ring is worn on the left ring finger because it is the only finger with a vein straight to the heart.
18. 14 years before the Titanic sank, a book was written about a ship called Titan that hit an iceberg in April, and sank.
19. There isn't an English word that rhymes with the words month, orange, silver or purple.
20. Your stomach must produce a new lining every 2 weeks, or it will digest itself.
21. A time between a person yawning, and someone in the vicinity yawning is relative to the relationship between the two people. Basically, if you are close (friends or family or whatever) and they yawn, you will yawn quickly in response. But if the person that triggers your yawn is a stranger, it will take you a little longer to respond.
22. There are 13 bell tolls at the beginning of "Hells Bells" by AC/DC
23. The proper response to the Irish greeting "Top o' the mornin' to you" is "And the rest of the day to yourself!"
24. The name "Wendy" was never seen in print before the book "Peter Pan" and is thus believed to be the creation of the author, J.M. Barrie.
25. Beauty products contain disgusting ingredients. Lipstick has fish scales and lead. Perfume has whale vomit, and some red blushes and lipsticks have boiled bug insides in them... NASTY!


And finally...

25 things I would like to do before I die... Because everyone needs a bucket list. :)

1. Visit Ireland (I have a real fear of flying, so this is definitely a bucket list item)
2. Publish a novel
3. Adopt at least one child
4. Own my home outright
5. Go on a cruise to the Bahamas
6. See the Grand Canyon
7. Renew my marriage vows on the beach
8. Go on a cruise to Alaska
9. Be able to say that I've stepped foot in every single state in the US
10. Experience New Year's Eve in Times Square, NY
11. Experience Mardi Gras in Mobile, Alabama (where it started)
12. See the Northern Lights
13. Learn another language to fluency
14. Explore Brazil
15. Assist Habitat for Humanity on a build
16. Homeschool my daughter through high school
17. Design my own home
18. Swim with dolphins
19. Hit the jackpot (Lottery or gambling)
20. Visit Disney World again
21. Learn American Sign Language fluently
22. Break my caffeine and sugar addictions
23. Get a tattoo
24. Get my knee fixed
25. Purchase gasoline for under $1.00 per gallon


I really hope you've enjoyed these lists! It took me a LONG time to write them! :)

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Bullying

I found out yesterday that a young boy in my area committed suicide because he was bullied constantly. I was heart broken. Today I learned that we knew him through karate (no pics were posted, so I didn't realize it). I'm completely shattered. 

Bullying has been a part of my life as long as I've been alive. When I was a child, I was bullied, but not as badly as kids today are. When I first became an adult, I became the victim of a very different kind of bullying, known to many as domestic violence. When my child started school, I learned what it felt like to be the parent of a bullied child, and how frustrating it was to see the school doing NOTHING. 

I've LONG been a supporter of all of the anti-bullying movements happening. Each young life that ends because of bullies breaks my heart. Please, talk to your children. Make sure that your children know how much damage they are doing if they are picking on someone. And make sure they know that they need to shout it from the rooftops if no one will listen if they are being bullied. This HAS to stop, and it will only stop if every parent knuckles down to make sure that their child isn't the cause, or a victim. I know that no parent wants to believe their child is capable of being that vicious... It's not a pleasant thought. Talk to them, anyway. Even if you don't believe your child could be a bully, talk to them. Too many young lives have ended. Why can't we all at least tolerate each other??? Get out of your narrow-minded views, and even if you don't agree, or condone whatever, accept it and don't cause them pain. This HAS to stop!!!


Big trip!

Well, the time has come for our big trip. We're leaving around 8 in the morning, and we'll drive over 5 hours to attend this Christmas party! The holiday season is really getting into gear, and lots of parties and gatherings and trips are happening right now. I'm nervous, but it's normal for me. I'm always nervous before I do something. I'm nervous the night before I take my daughter to the doctor, so this isn't new. LOL I'm currently printing off directions, and packing and trying to get everything ready to walk out the door in the morning... FUN! We will go via one interstate, and come back a different way, so I've got to print off 2 sets of directions. LOL And I'm also trying to schedule a couple of stops. :) I'm excited! LOL
Festive Nails!

They aren't perfect by any stretch, but they're good enough for me :)  Please ignore the white paint on my hand. LOL I wiped one off when I was doing my right hand, because I'm not left handed, and painting straight (or even remotely straight) stripes with your non-dominant hand is NOT easy! LOL.


I hope you're all having a wonderful time at whatever celebrations you're having!!!

Hopefully I will have lots of great pics to share when we get back! :)

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Sunday Drive Blog Hop 12-11-11

It's time to hop again! The rules are the same as always, and we have a new BOW. If you would like to have your blog featured on our hop, just fill out the Interest Form in the tab at the top! No one is in line for next week, so get that form filled out!


This week's Blog of the Week (BOW) is 

This is a brand new blog, with only a few followers, so let's show them some love! Still so new there isn't a button to post! That's okay, no blog is ever too small... After all, that's what blog hops are for, right? Let's help grow this blog!

RULES
1. Follow your hostesses, and the blog of the week. If you're new, leave a comment and we'll follow back!

2. Link up your blog (main page only, please), Facebook, and Twitter pages!
3. Follow as many of the links as you'd like! The more you follow, the more followers you get! Make sure you leave a comment letting them know you're new and that you came from this hop!
4. Please add the hop button to your blog. This is NOT mandatory, but HIGHLY appreciated!!! The code is in my right sidebar!
5. Have fun!



Friday, December 09, 2011

Parades, shopping and our trip

My daughter was in a parade last night, and will be in another one tonight... After the parade last night, I did some shopping. I got the outfit I will wear at the Christmas party! I've still got to get my hair done, and I will apparently be changing my nail polish. I'm currently sporting a pretty light blue with white snowflakes painted on, and then a pretty glitter over it. :) The top I chose is red, so I will go with candy cane nails for the party. Yeah, I LOVE doing my nails :) I've seen some super talented people on YouTube and Pinterest, and I'm not one of those, but it's fun, and it's my little outlet for creativity and expression.

I'm starting to get nervous about the trip... I always do this and I suppose it's normal to be nervous. It's a 5 hour drive. I will be able to post while I'm there, so it's not a big deal. We will leave Thursday morning, and the party is Thursday night. Then on Friday, my hubby will have to attend a company meeting, and I will be stuck in the hotel room. LOL We'll leave on our way back home Friday afternoon, and should be home before midnight, but that depends on how many stops we make.

I hope all of your parties and celebrations are great!

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

Quiet lately...

It's hard to say I've been quiet lately, since I've made nearly 100 posts in less than 3 months, but I've been REALLY busy the past few days. Christmas is just 2 1/2 weeks away! And (Queen Procrastinator) I've barely STARTED my shopping. I know, I'm ashamed! Plus, my hubby and I will be going out of state next week for a couple of days for his company's Christmas party. We had fun last year, and are really looking forward to going, but I've not given myself any real attention since my mom passed away, and I'm LONG past due for a trip to the salon... I haven't had my hair touched since early February! And I need to pick up a couple of cute outfits, since I've gained some (hmm) weight since last year. 
Since I opened up the topic, I might as well make my plans known... I will be going on a SERIOUS diet after Christmas... Not so much a diet as a lifestyle change really. And maybe making it known and logging my progress on my blog will help me stick with it. I hope you guys don't mind me using this site as a weight loss journey log as well... I'll still be doing all of the awesome giveaways! 
Speaking of giveaways, I've got some great stuff coming up! A couple of reviews, a couple of giveaways... Should be a lot of fun! I'll give you my whole story a little a time, I suppose. It's not pretty, but it will hopefully be interesting enough to read. 

In the meantime, anyone got any advice for a girl with some SERIOUS emotional eating habits??? 
Have you ever faced these issues? How did you cope with emotional eating? I'd really appreciate any help offered! :)

Sunday, December 04, 2011

SquidSoap Winner!

Someone has to win, and that lucky person is...


Entry #42 - Christian Nunez!

Please respond to the email within 48 hours. It's already sent, so if you don't see it, check your spam folder! Congratulations!!!


Thank you to everyone for participating! I'll have more coming up VERY soon, but in the meantime, make sure you're entered into the Locomotion of Giving giveaway for one of THREE Amazon gift cards totaling $80! Check it out!!!


↷ Click the cute graphic! 
Locomotion of Giving
We're REALLY late posting the hop, and that's my fault. I'm sorry! I will do better in the future, I promise :) Please remember that the hop runs all week, so get those links in! :)


The rules are the same as last week! And thank you to those who have filled out our BOW Interest Form! We will be doing these in order, so you WILL be a BOW very soon!

This week's Blog of the Week (BOW) is 



A blog featuring beauty and skin care products, some food, and some eco-friendly products! Her most recent post is about ADORABLE crayons that look like egg-shaped cats (you have to see these) and they're made from soy! Eco and child friendly! Make sure you follow her!


1. Follow your hostesses, and the blog of the week. This is really a nice thing to do... If you're new, leave a comment and we'll follow back!

2. Link up your blog (main page only, please), Facebook, and Twitter pages!
3. Follow as many of the links as you'd like! The more you follow, the more followers you get! Make sure you leave a comment letting them know you're new and that you came from this hop!
4. Please add the hop button to your blog. This is NOT mandatory, but HIGHLY appreciated!!! The code is in my right sidebar!
5. Have fun!




Thursday, December 01, 2011

Win Amazon Gift Cards!!!

Locomotion of Giving is starting!!!
Locomotion of Giving
You can click this lovely graphic to get to the entry page!
Alright, do any of you remember the post I made in a couple of weeks ago about Locomotion of Giving??? I've got GREAT news! Not only is it starting TODAY, but the prize amounts have gone UP!!! There are THREE prizes in this giveaway! 

1st Prize - $50 Amazon Gift Card
2nd Prize - $20 Amazon Gift Card
3rd Prize - $10 USD Gift Card

Make sure you're all entered! You can get SEVERAL entries in this giveaway, so take advantage! :)
Go to Locomotion of Expressions to enter! Please make sure you fill out ALL of the fields in the Rafflecopter! Oh! And if you can purchase from Amazon in your location, enter! This is open to anyone, anywhere, as long as they can purchase from Amazon! :)


If you're new here from the Locomotion of Giving, please leave me a comment, and I will gladly follow back! Glad to have you!!! :) 

We have a winner!

The Real Kids Shades giveaway has ended, and the winner has been chosen! Thank you all very much for participating! Remember, the more participation I get on my blog, the better stuff I can get for giveaways! :)

Okay, the winner is...

Entry # 169  Amber Jackson!


Congratulations, Amber! I know you'll love those sunglasses! I've already sent out your email, so if you don't see it, check your spam folder, because you only have 48 hours to respond.

I've got some great stuff coming up! If you want to be up to date on everything, please subscribe to my blog via email! Thanks!

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Last day to enter to win sunglasses from Real Kids Shades!

Today is the last day to win a pair of awesome sunglasses from Real Kids Shades! These are NOT your average children's sunglasses... Not only do they look cool, but they are designed with comfort and safety in mind, and they protect those young eyes from damage that can cause serious eye diseases later in life! You can check out my full review HERE, and enter the giveaway! It ends at midnight, so get those entries in, and share with your friends!!! Thanks!

DiamonDozen Etsy Shop

Got these super cute wolf earrings (Yep, I'm Team Jacob, but only when I'm watching. LOL) from DiamonDozen, and wanted to share with you guys. They've got some other cute items, and if you've got tweens or teens, you know this stuff is super popular with them! I also like these mushroom earrings and these tea drinker drop earrings, because they remind me of another favorite movie. Just some cute stuff for ya on the cheap! :)

Monday, November 28, 2011

Looking for Gift Ideas???

I wanted to go back through some of the reviews I've done to point out some great products that would make great gifts!!! I've made SO many posts since I started (September 9, 2011 can you believe it???) and I wanted to put them all in one place, in case you've missed them!



Real Kids Shades and SquidSoap are still live giveaways, so make sure you enter! The rest of these are reviews or the giveaway is closed, but still some great products to consider for your gift shopping! 

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Winners!!!

Okay, the Zoobies and Sonic Alert giveaways are over! Thank you to everyone for participating! The winners have been emailed, and have 48 hours to respond. If they fail to respond in time, new winners will be chosen!

Here they are...

Zoobies Blanket Pet Winner - Entry 409 - C Hulsey

Sonic Alert Alarm Clock - Entry 388 - Ann Parker

Congrats!!! Please check your email, including the spam folder! Thanks!



↓Other Giveaways!!!

I have 2 other great giveaways going on right now, so please, everyone, check them out!!!


Real Kids Shades - AWESOME sunglasses for kids!!!

Squid Soap - A super cool handsoap/training tool for teaching kids how to properly wash their hands!!!

Zoobies and Sonic Alert end in just a few hours!

The Zoobies and Sonic Alert giveaways are ending in just a few hours!!! Make sure you're entered!

Zoobies Blanket Pet Giveaway!

Sonic Alert Alarm Clock Giveaway!



And don't forget to check out the Sunday Drive Blog Hop, happening now! Link up will be live until next Saturday evening (3rd of Dec), so get those links in! And follow, follow, follow :) If you're new, leave me a comment with a link to your blog, and I will GLADLY follow back! :)



To leave a link in a comment, type:

<a href="http://linktoyourblog.bloggerorwordpressorwhatever.com/">Title of Your Blog</a>

Make sure to substitute your URL for the mumbo-jumbo I put in the there. :) For example, when I leave a link in a comment, I type

<a href="http://tigereyes2001reviews.blogspot.com/">Through the Eyes of a Tiger</a>


I'm telling you guys this, not because I'm too lazy to highlight and copy your URL, but because links back to your site, even ones you've left yourself, help your Alexa rankings :)  Have fun!

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Sunday Drive Blog Hop 11-27

Wow, what a week!!! I hope you all had a great week, and a great holiday for those of us celebrating Thanksgiving this past week! Food, family, food, football... did I mention all the food??? LOL

Well, it's time to hop! I hope you're all ready to get those links in! Once again, the hop runs until the next one posts on the following Saturday evening, so even if you don't get in on Sunday, feel free to link up later! And don't forget to check back for any new links!!! 



The rules are the same this week! We're changing the way you become BOW though! There's now a form in a page at the top of my blog! If you're interested in being the blog of the week, fill out that form! You must have our hop button on your blog to qualify. The reason for this is because we need to get the word out about the blog hop! The more people that participate, the more followers you get, so getting the word out is beneficial for everyone! We're also giving the blog of the week a little spotlight, and the first position on the hop link up! So get that form filled out! First come, first served! 

This week's BOW



We would like to spotlight RaeBeth's Corner as this week's Blog of the Week! The main focus of this blog is life, and the experiences of a mother! You'll find a variety of posts on this blog, including product reviews, giveaways, and the daily struggle of a mom!  Please remember, this is our Blog of the Week, and a mandatory follow! :) 

1. Follow your hostesses, and the blog of the week. This is really a nice thing to do... If you're new, leave a comment and we'll follow back!

2. Link up your blog (main page only, please), Facebook, and Twitter pages!
3. Follow as many of the links as you'd like! The more you follow, the more followers you get! Make sure you leave a comment letting them know you're new and that you came from this hop!
4. Please add the hop button to your blog. This is NOT mandatory, but HIGHLY appreciated!!! The code is in my right sidebar!
5. Have fun!
Okay, we'll be posting the blog hop later this evening, but we've added a new feature... At the top of both of our blogs (the hostesses), you will see a new page tab. Blog of the Week Interest Form... (I think it says BOW Interest Form on both of our blogs). If you're interested in being the featured Blog of the Week (BOW), please fill out this form! We will feature one blog each week, and the featured blog will receive a spotlight in the post, and the first link in the hop! Please fill out the form quickly, as this is first come, first served! Thanks!!!

Friday, November 25, 2011

And the winners are...

Okay, the giveaways for the $15 gift cards are over! Thanks to everyone who participated! Congratulations to the winners! If everything checks out with the company (eligibility with them) and I suspect it will, then the following people have won the gift cards!

I'm also sending you an email to let you know you've won!

In the Costume Squad review - Entry #33 - Tammy Lynch Sigond
In the Nacho Mama review - Entry # 48 - Cindy Loo
In the CrazyDogTshirts review - Entry #33 - Regina Mickle


Congratulations to all three of you! I will send your email addresses to the company, and they will email your gift card to you! Thanks for participating, and tell your friends where you won! 

Giveaways ending at midnight!!!

Just wanted to let everyone know that the 3 giveaways for $15 gift cards to CrazyDogTshirts.com are ending at midnight TONIGHT! If you haven't entered to win, and are eligible (rules are on each post), please enter! And share those giveaways with your friends! Even if you aren't eligible, wouldn't it be cool to get your friends in it, and give them a chance to win? :)

Costume Squad Review, $15 gc to CrazyDogTshirts.com

Nacho Mama Review, $15 gc to CrazyDogTshirts.com

Crazy Dog Review, $15 gc to CrazyDogTshirts.com

I hope I'm not making your heads spin with the changes to my blog... I just wanted to keep it up to date and interesting. :)   Also, I've added the PunchTab app to my blog, so you guys can win loyalty points each day just for visiting my blog and other tasks... You're supposed to get 100 points for your first visit of the day, first tweet of the day, first comment of the day, first like on Facebook (I don't know if that's just liking my page, or liking a post) and for hitting that +1 button on a post! It does take quite a few points to get a gift card, but you can get (I think) 300 points a day. But all you have to do to win a gc is participate! I hope you guys enjoy it!

Happy Black Friday!

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving, and I hope those of you participating in the Black Friday shopping madness are being careful! I've already seen stories of people fighting and trampling, and all kinds of other craziness... I finally decided NOT to shop today. I'm kinda disappointed about missing a couple of great deals, but as the news stories come in about the violent jerks after a deal, I'm kinda glad I am not messing with it. Some things are worth it. Some things aren't. Saving $100 on something we don't really need anyway? Not worth it to me this year.

I'm not in a shopping mood this year, anyway. I am sure you've all suffered the first holiday season after the passing of a loved one, and the absence is painfully evident. This was my first Thanksgiving since my mom passed, and I just didn't handle it well. When I finally started to have SOME hope that the day wouldn't be as horrible as it started, we broke down on the way to my aunt's house... Go figure. It just wasn't my day. Thankfully, the problem with the car wasn't major, but we'll have to keep an eye on it since we're going out of state in it next month.

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, with lots of laughter and food and loved ones around. And I hope you snag those great deals today! Best of luck! Be safe!

Thursday, November 24, 2011

The week of ThanksGIVING...

Yes, this is officially the week of Thanksgiving... And Black Friday! Meals and Deals... Does it get any better? But, let's not forget what Thanksgiving is really about... Being thankful for what we have... And GIVING! That's why I've been posting SO many giveaways lately!

And I'm going to link them all right here, right now!
Those ending first will be posted first...
Please remember... All giveaways end at midnight on the end date... The second the end date arrives...



$15 Gift Card to CrazyDogTshirts.com - Costume Squad Review  *ENDS 11/26*

$15 Gift Card to CrazyDogTshirts.com - Nacho Mama Tees Review  *ENDS 11/26*

$15 Gift Card to CrazyDogTshirts.com - Crazy Dog Tshirts Review  *ENDS 11/26*

Sonic Alert Alarm Clock  *ENDS 11/28*

Zoobies Blanket Pet  *ENDS 11/28*

Real Kids Shades Sunglasses  *ENDS 12/1*

Squid Soap  *ENDS 12/5*

Yes, there are THREE opportunities to win a $15 gift card! And I've got more stuff coming up! So get those entries in! And don't forget, tell your friends so they can have a chance to win, too! Afterall, this IS the season of GIVING!!!


*EDIT: Added a new giveaway!!!*

Monday, November 21, 2011

Squid Soap Review and Giveaway

You guys ready for ANOTHER giveaway? Me, too!!! I'm having SO much fun!

I was sent a bottle of Squid Soap for review by MySoapTime.com. Squid Soap is recommended for children 7-14, and is a training tool for teaching your children how to properly wash their hands. When you push down on the dispenser, it leaves a dob of ink on your hand. Simply wash until the ink is gone, and your hands are clean! And this soap smells GREAT! It's an orange-y smell like another soap I've used in the past... Love that smell!

I used to work in a daycare, and we had our own way of teaching kids proper handwashing... We would sing with them! Some of the teachers chose the "ABC song" and others chose to sing "Happy Birthday" twice. I preferred the "ABC" method, because they're getting 2 lessons in one, and they think they're singing and playing in water! LOL

I know the song method is above the age group recommended, but I tested this soap against the song, and it actually took a few extra seconds to get that stamp completely off, but that's great! I'd rather have a child wash their hands for a few seconds longer than necessary than to not do it long enough! You still have to teach your child proper movements to clean their hands effectively, so they simply don't scrub the one spot, but I really think this is a GREAT idea!



Images copyright Squid Soap
The guard ring is a great feature, as this helps to prevent accidental marking. However, it's not a guarantee that you won't accidentally mark something or someone, so I kept the plastic cover handy... I just replace the cover when not in use. I realize this is probably more feasible since my daughter is a bit older, but it's still worth a shot. In the event that it DOES get on some clothes, it will hopefully wash out. It IS a washable marker, so it will come out of most materials with some soap and water.

We all know the importance of handwashing, but did you know that only 30% of people who have coughed or sneezed wash their hands afterward? 1 in 3 Americans doesn't wash their hands after using the restroom... Kids are even worse! In a study of junior high school boys and girls, only 58% of the girls washed their hands after using the restroom, and only 48% of the boys did! Think about THAT the next time you shake hands with that stranger... 

The best defense is a good offense. Teach them early, and make it a habit. If it's enough of a habit, they will do it without even thinking about it. Some of the best ways to make your children want to wash their hands is to make sure that they see that YOU wash your hands after handling food, touching your face, going to the restroom, touching garbage, or any other event where hand washing would be called for. Any tool that helps kids learn proper hygiene is a great invention in my book!

MySoapTime.com also has products for children 2-7, and these are super cool, too! Please check out their store! SquidSoap really isn't expensive, and if you can cut down on the number of times your child gets sick, it is well worth it!!!

And one of my lucky readers can win a bottle!!!

EDIT: I messed up on the Twitter and Facebook entries that are required entries, but I have now fixed them. Please make sure you have completed these required entries! Thank you, Judy, for bringing these to my attention! :)

Meet Me on Monday

I decided to join a different kind of hop this week... Looks like a lot of fun! It's called Meet Me on Monday, and the host blog posts 5 questions. You're supposed to write a blog post answering those 5 questions, and then link your post into the hop! Sounds like a lot of fun, right?!

The host is Never Growing Old, and this is the link to the original post for this week, with the instructions and questions. :)


Okay, I'll post the questions here as well, so you can have them for reference while you read my post :) The host uses pics to punctuate the answer, so I will as well, even though this isn't stated in the rules. Looks good, though :)

1. I wish I had more time to _________?
2. What is your favorite kind of soup?
3. Where will you eat Thanksgiving dinner?
4. What is your favorite time of day?
5. Did you start Christmas shopping yet?

Sunday, November 20, 2011

The Tournament...

Wow, yesterday was absolutely crazy! The day lasted MUCH longer than anticipated... There was a little confusion happening, and it ended up that the judges were all black belts, and they all needed to compete as well, so we waited a while for them to get their competitions out of the way so they could judge...

My daughter competed in 3 events... Weapons, forms, and sparring... I have to be honest, I was concerned about sparring. She hasn't done that well lately in the practices they have, and I was a bit worried about it. But, there wasn't a reason to be worried. She was simply goofing off in class, and she ended up doing really well at the tournament! :)

Weapons was first... It was awesome! She actually tied for first place! Unfortunately, the situation got the best of her, and she messed up in the tie-breaker, but she still got silver!!!

Forms was second... Awesome, AGAIN! And this time, she got GOLD... :)

And finally, sparring... The judges were calling points and warnings quite differently than we're used to. And honestly, there was the human error aspect as well... I'm NOT one of those parents that thinks my child is the best in the world and should always win, but I wasn't the only one who saw what actually happened. According to OUR rules, she won. Clearly. And according to the more recognized standard, she won. But, according to the judges, she came in second. So, she got silver. I'm still proud of her! She was really on her game yesterday, and she did her best! You can't expect anymore than that! :)

Unfortunately, I only had a 128mb SD card with me... I know, I know... I'm supposed to be more prepared than that! LOL I only got a few pics, and 2 videos... BUT... When we got home, and I could access the bigger SD cards, we snapped some quick pics outside!

 Two Silver Medals, One Gold Medal!



We're SO proud of her!!! It was a LONG day, though! Oh, and she competed in her old green belt, because of the way the system is set up, she is just learning the form and stuff for the advanced category, so she competed at the intermediate level. She could've legally competed in the belt she started the year at, but that was still in the intermediate category, so it wouldn't really make a difference. :) She's still a brown belt.

Btw, the hop is up and running, so PLEASE link up! Sunday Drive Hop!

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere 11-20

Yep, it's time to hop again! And this time, I'm posting it on time! YAY! GO ME! LOL

We didn't get as much participation this past hop as before, and I think that's my fault for posting so late... So my goal is to start posting it about halfway through Saturday. And don't forget, the linky will be up and open until the next hop posts, so get those link in, even if it isn't Sunday...



Blog of the week was chosen by Random.org, and was based on the comments on my cohost's blog... No one wanted to comment on mine... Anyway... Random chose comment 4 of 13, so...


Sew Rugged @ Bear Rabbit Bear is the Blog of the Week!







1. Follow your hostesses, and the blog of the week. This is really a nice thing to do... If you're new, leave a comment and we'll follow back!

Hostesses are:

2. Link up your blog (main page only, please), Facebook, and Twitter pages!
3. Follow as many of the links as you'd like! The more you follow, the more followers you get! Make sure you leave a comment letting them know you're new and that you came from this hop!
4. Please add the hop button to your blog. This is NOT mandatory, but HIGHLY appreciated!!! The code is in my right sidebar!
5. Have fun!


Real Kids Shades Review & Giveaway!!! *CLOSED*

I was allowed to review Real Kids Shades, a company that specializes in sunglasses with UV protection for kids. Not only are these adorable sunglasses stylish, but they're designed to fit securely on children! With a line for babies, which includes a secure wrap design, that keeps the sunglasses comfortably in place, but it also helps to reduce peripheral light! Why is this so important? Real Kids Shades is a company striving to protect children's eyes from UV rays, and hopefully save them from some eye diseases and damage later on... Studies show that children's eyes are more susceptible to the damage of UV rays, and that damage can cause cataracts, macular degeneration, and growths on the eyes, including malignancies.

Did you know that 82% of parents encourage their children to wear sunscreen, but only 32% do the same for sunglasses. It's time to change that! Make sure that your child's eyes are protected from UVA and UVB rays!

Real Kids Shades is working closely with Prevent Blindness America to help educate the public about the necessity of protecting children's eyes from UV rays. Real Kids Shades offer 100% protection from both UVA and UVB rays!

We chose the Xtreme Convertible sunglasses. These are AWESOME sunglasses, and can convert from temple bands to a secure strap in seconds! We absolutely love them! She can wear the temples when she's just hanging out, or she can switch to the bands when she needs them to stay put. And for an active child, this is extremely important!
That button is the release. The bands easily snap out, and the strap easily snaps in! 

The front of the glasses. And yes, I'm sitting in the van... LOL

The padding that touches the face... VERY comfy, and also helps block out peripheral light!
Outdoor Karate Demonstration

Would you like to win a pair of Real Kids Shades sunglasses? One lucky reader will get to win a pair of their choice from Real Kids Shades! Make sure you check out their entire selection! They've got awesome sunglasses for boys and girls from newborn to 12 years old! RealKidsShades.com!

*You MUST be a public follower of my blog via Google Friend Connect to participate*
*Open to US, Canada, Puerto Rico, and APO.*

**EDIT: Stupid me forgot to start the Rafflecopter... DUH.... LOL Anyway, since I messed up on the start date, I'm ending it a day later, and the giveaway is now OPEN... Sorry! I'll post the hop in just a little bit!**

Friday, November 18, 2011

I got another award!!!

I was honored with the Versatile Blogger Award!!! So happy! Given by Locomotion of Expressions, a great blog with almost 1,000 more readers, so I feel really honored!!! Thank you, Casey!!!


As part of accepting this awesome award, I'm supposed to fulfill a few requirements... I'm to link back to the person giving me the award, Locomotion of Expressions. I also need to nominate 10 people I think are deserving of the Versatile Blogger award! Now, Casey posted the nomination 10 days ago, and it has seriously taken me that long to decide on 10 blogs!!! Sorry it took so long, but I love my fellow bloggers!!! It was hard to narrow it down! I also have to tell everyone 7 things about myself... LOL

Here are my nominations...



And now for the scary part... 7 things about ME... 

1. I'm the biggest research nerd I know... If I don't know something, I will look it up! I love learning new things, so this isn't a problem for me, but most other people find it VERY annoying, and helpful at the same time... If they don't know something, they can ask me... If I don't know, I WILL find out. LOL It's an obsession. It literally irritates me to the point that I either have to learn it right now, or I will snap. I know... I should be a psychiatrist's couch with that one...

2. My eyes are grey-blue, and I love it. They're not common, and I love the grey color. I actually try to enhance the grey with makeup (when I wear any) and wish my eyes were completely grey. 

3. I am the stay-at-home mom/homeschool teacher to my 10 year old daughter, who is heavily involved in mixed martial arts. It's a lifestyle, not an extracurricular. We are there 5 days per week on most weeks, sometimes 6 days. 

4. I like to assemble things. If we buy something that requires assembly, I insist on being the one to do it. I find it... therapeutic, I guess.

5. I once considered being a nurse... When my daughter was very sick, we spent 12 days in the hospital, followed by 6 weeks of IV antibiotics at home. During this time, I learned SO much about medicine, and because of the obsession revealed in number 1 above, I have continued to learn more and more about it. 

6. I love nearly all genres of music... Classical to metal. I have been told on more than one occasion that I am an old soul trapped in a young body.

7. I'm seriously afraid of birds. I can watch them from a distance, take pics of them... They're beautiful. But I can't get too close to them. I don't even like them in cages, really. They just scare me. LOL

That was a lot of fun! Thanks Casey @ Locomotion of Expressions

Big tournament tomorrow...

Okay, my daughter's karate tournament is tomorrow, so I've scheduled a review and giveaway to post while I'm gone! Be on the lookout for that giveaway!

Hopefully I'll have some pics to post tomorrow evening of my baby girl and some cool trophies or medals or whatever they will be giving out at the tournament. This is the biggest tournament she's ever been in, so we're all kind of nervous.

So... while I'm gone, the review will post, and then tomorrow evening, the Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere will post... Who would like to be our Blog of the Week??? Comment below, and we'll pick! Thanks!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Zoobie Blanket Pet Review & Giveaway!!! *CLOSED*

I got to do a review of a regular Zoobie Blanket Pet! These are SO cute! Super cute plush animals, with a blanket inside! What could be better? I chose to review the Khimba Koala and her baby Kai!
The blanket is wonderfully soft, and warm. The pet doubles as a pillow. And Kai, the adorable baby, is detachable, and can be a cuddle buddy! How adorable is that?! This is like the perfect nap pal! The blanket is also detachable, so you can lay on it, or cover up with it, while still using Khimba (or your preferred pet) as a pillow! I was also pleasantly surprised about the size of the blanket! It's HUGE!!! I could've just as easily used this blanket as a throw!

And there are SO many options, these wonderful plush animals are sure to delight any little one! This is a bit young for my daughter, but not for a little cousin... And she ADORES it! And with a brand new baby brother, this was the perfect pet! Khimba could be Kai's big sister! It's perfect! 

With bears and zebras, kittens and hippos, ladybugs and wolves, just to name a few... there are too many pets to list! You really must check them out! And I have a coupon code for you!!! You can take 20% off of ANY Zoobie product on the Zoobies.com website with the code "Parenthood" 

And you have a chance to win 1 regular Zoobie Blanket Pet, right here on my blog!

The Soul Reader by Gerard Webster

"The Soul Reader" by Gerard D. Webster is a great book. I didn't even realize that it was a sequel, because there's no missing information. You don't feel like you're coming into the middle of the story, so this book can stand alone and be read without the first installment, "In-Sight."



There's a lot of action packed into this book. From the beginning, you learn of the murder of Ward's father, and the precarious position the woman he loves places him in. Still recovering from an accident, Ward is forced to deal with his father's murder, and the murderer... while trying not to cross the wrong paths and end up meeting an early demise himself.

As you follow Ward through the history of the failed North Beach Project, and the hunt for the truth, including exposing some very powerful and wealthy men who don't want to be exposed, you see the anger Ward struggles with over his father's murder. The anger that threatens to put out the light in his own soul...

I'd really like to read "In-Sight" now that I've been introduced to the writing of Gerard D. Webster. This is a really good book, and I'd definitely recommend to anyone who loves a suspenseful book, with a twist of romance.

4 out of 5 stars. There are some slower parts of the book, but they're worth reading through.
☆  


*Disclaimer: I received this item from BookSneeze.com and the publisher, as part of their Blogger Review program. A review was requested, but in no way was I asked or expected to give them anything other than an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."*

Twitter party!

Hey, don't forget the Twitter party taking place at 7PM Eastern tonight! Join the fun, and win some prizes! I know there will be Sidral Mundet giftpacks, iPod Nanos, and an iPad2 given away! Make sure you're following https://twitter.com/#!/SidralMundet and https://twitter.com/#!/StockPilingMoms and tweet with hashtag #SidralMundet to win some awesome stuff! I would LOVE to see my readers winning!

https://twitter.com/#!/stockpilingmoms/status/137256737295175681


I've got lots of stuff ready to post, too! I posted up 3 great giveaways last night for $15 gift cards to CrazyDogTshirts.com! Make sure you check those out! I've got a giveaway for a Zoobie Blanket Pet coming up tonight! I want to give you ample time to get in on those gift cards! Gotta be in it to win it!!! Good luck!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

CrazyDogTshirts.com Review & Giveaway

I was given a shirt from CrazyDogTshirts.com to review... I had to pick one, but I'll be honest... It's difficult to pick just one! Same mature humor warning on this one as the other two. I just know that I appreciate it when I'm alerted to these things BEFORE I have to explain something to my daughter! LOL

I loved the Pacman Abbey Road shirt, located under the Video Games category! Love the fact that it's styled after the VERY famous Beatles Abbey Road cover. Sure to start quite a few conversations!

I also love the Ninja shirt in the Girls shirts category. Very cute! And of course, you know who I was thinking of! LOL

And the Loading... my diaper creeper is TOO adorable! It's under the Funny Creepers category, and there are some hilarious baby clothes there!

I finally ended up picking the Dachshund Homeboy shirt because I thought it was hilarious. We have a dachshund, and these little guys sure do find a way to irritate you while looking absolutely adorable in the process! They're extremely mischievous!


This shirt is very soft, and the design seems to be high quality. I have no complaints with this or any of the other shirts I received. And I've seen a TON of shirts on these sites that I would love to get!

And you can a $15 gift card from CrazyDogTshirts.com!

There ARE a few extra rules with this one, so I'll explain them here, as well as in the Rafflecopter...

*You MUST be a public follower of my blog via GFC*
*You cannot have won a promotional item from the company mentioned above within the last 90 days*
*You cannot have a review/giveaway blog of your own*
*Gift Card will be emailed to the winner, and will be redeemable at CrazyDogTshirts.com ONLY*

NachoMamaTees.com Review & Giveaway!!!

I was allowed to review a t-shirt from NachoMamaTees.com! There are quite a few that I wanted, so I'll show you my favorites, as well as the one I finally picked! Again, some of the shirts have some mature humor, so please be cautious around children  that can read... Just wanted to warn you guys so you don't have any awkward questions to answer. LOL

I love (notice the present tense, because I watch the reruns!) The Golden Girls! So of course, I loved the Stay Golden t-shirt, found in the Movie T-shirts category.

And being Irish, and an AC/DC fan, I love the Irish t-shirt, found in the St Patrick's Day t-shirts... LOVE it!
And check out THIS deal!!! 2 shirts for $6.29!!! Including the Irish shirt I like! LOL (I'll be going back to grab this one!!!)

But, as soon as I saw the Nunchucks shirt, I HAD to have it for my daughter! LOVE this shirt!


It's quite soft, and the sizing was great. The design feels like it will last a while. She's gotten QUITE a few comments about it, especially when she wears it with her karate uniform, and removes the jacket! LOL This is easily one of her favorite shirts!

You can win a $15 gift card to CrazyDogTshirts.com!

There ARE some extra rules with this one, so I will explain them now, as well as in the Rafflecopter...

*You MUST be a public follower of my blog via Google Friend Request*
*You cannot have won a promotional item from the company listed above within the last 90 days.*
*You cannot have a review/giveaway blog of your own*
*Gift Card will be redeemable at CrazyDogTshirts.com and will be emailed to the winner.*