Thursday, September 29, 2011

Fall Bucket List

I've seen several blogs post a Fall Bucket List, and that is such a great idea! I've decided to post one, but I don't want to do the one that's already made up... I'm going to wing it. LOL

These are the top 10 things I want to do before fall ends this year!

1. Go to the Pumpkin Patch
2. Enter a pumpkin carving contest
3. Do an awesome Halloween inspired nail art design
4. Have a few homeschool classes in the park
5. Go to the top of a local mountain to take pics of the beautiful colors of fall
6. Actually manage some Christmas shopping BEFORE Thanksgiving!
7. Make some fall decorations using things found in the yard
8. Go to a carnival
9. See Breaking Dawn Part 1 the night it opens
10. Reach 300 followers!

I hope this wasn't too boring! LOL

Okay, I'm working on a review for Five Finger Tees (Gotta wait until hubs can be available for pics in daylight hours! Better lighting!)
Part 2 of my NuMe review... Curly! Featuring the 13mm Curling Wand

And next week...

A book review for "The Soul Reader" by Gerard D Webster

A virtual book tour will be stopping by my blog! Author Lucy Adams will be stopping by on October 4th to tell us about her book, "Tuck Your Panties in Your Skirt and Run!"

And hopefully a couple of other things I've been working on!

I hope you guys are all having a great week! If anyone wants to swap buttons, let me know! Snag my button and comment that you did, and I'll go grab yours! Thanks!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

NuMe Review: Part 1- Straight

I'm sorry this review is taking so long! My daughter (and model) has ADHD and her medicine stopped being effective. This didn't happen suddenly, but her doctor suddenly decided to listen to me, so he changed her medicine. She had a bad reaction to what the changed her to, so they changed it again... In the meantime, she's completely unable to focus or sit still... Kind of difficult to straighten her hair if she can't stop jumping around! LOL So, I finally got to straighten her hair, and thus, part 1 of the Nu-Me review! Her new medicine takes some time to get into her system, so right now you can't even tell she's on medicine, and she can't cooperate for me to curl her hair. It's not her fault, and I'm NOT blaming her... Just telling you guys what's going on and why it's going to take some time to get that done.
Okay, onto the review! This is for the Vintage Flat Iron... I bought the pink one.


Outside so you can see how pretty and bright this pink is!

http://www.numeonline.com/shop/products/Vintage.html

The Claims:  (From their website, linked above)
"  NuMe's best selling Vintage professional styler is the original 100% solid ceramic iron that brings shine and luster back to the most course or wispy hair. With its rounded barrel design, it's ideal for transforming your hair to any glamorous look - silky straight, voluminous waves or perfect curls. Great for all hair types.
   The NuMe Vintage is a classic Professional Styling Iron with a unique alignment system that ensures ideal contact between your hair and our 100% tourmaline ceramic plates. Using pure ceramic plates ensures even distribution, eliminating the hot spots and chipping associated with conventional irons. Our 100% ceramic plates emit negative ions which seals moisture in the hair cuticle keeping your hair shiny, healthy and silky smooth."




  • Tourmaline-infused ceramic plates prevent dry and damaged hair.
  • Negative Ion Technology Reduces Static and frizz for shinier, more manageable hair. Rounded Barrels create curls or flips your hair.
  • Infrared Heat Technology. Gets faster results while maintaining your hair's health and integrity.
  • Heats up in seconds, reducing wait time.
  • Ergonomic design is easy to hold, handle and manipulate/
  • Built-in converter handles dual voltage from 110v to 240v (you must purchase the country's proper plug adapter separately) Temperature 410 degrees F

Before
Before 


The truth is...
 
The NuMe Flat Iron does have ceramic plates and it definitely brings out the shine in your hair...

The hair is soft and wonderful to touch after use

The Iron has a knob to adjust the temperature, but they put it inside the iron, below the plates (pic will demonstrate) so you do have to be kind of careful when trying to adjust the temp. Not much room there.
 
Because of the rounded design, you CAN create big, loose curls, or flips. They're beautiful. The woman who demonstrated the iron showed me. I haven't figured it out yet, but with a bouncing 10 year old, I didn't have much time to practice. LOL

There is a 3 year warranty on the iron, so if you break the plates (essentially ceramic tiles) they will replace it, or if it stops working for any reason.

The iron is VERY well designed, there's no denying that. The cord swivels, so you don't get all tangled up, and the hinge doesn't catch your hair (I was surprised!)

I love the feel of it in my hands. It's well-balanced, and lightweight, but clearly not cheaply made.

There's a light on the Iron that turns green when it's reached the desired temperature, and red when it's heating up.

I haven't seen any damage to my hair, or my daughter's. Actually, the iron brings out the oil, so our hair may actually be getting some benefit, though this isn't proven. Time will tell...

Straightening
The bad...

On the outside of the wand, near the plates, it does get pretty hot. I wouldn't say it's untouchable, but it isn't comfortable, and you couldn't hold it for long.

As with any heated product, you CAN burn the hair, so be careful (This isn't just the NuMe, but I wanted to point this out, just in case)

It DOES make our hair oily. I don't know if it's just because we have naturally oily hair, but it DOES make our hair oily after a while. It isn't immediate, so we can go out for hours without worrying, but after several hours (8 +/-) our hair does start to look oily.

Depending on the texture of the hair, and the temperature setting, you may have to do more than one pass with the iron. It's a learning process, as is just about anything.

After
After
Overall...
I absolutely recommend this for anyone looking to straighten their hair. I didn't use any products on our hair while doing this review, as I wanted the effect unspoiled by products made to straighten hair... I LOVE my NuMe, and will never use another flat iron!


*DISCLAIMER* Just so everyone is aware, I am not being paid or compensated in any fashion for this review. These are my honest opinions, and I stand behind them. The good, the bad, and the ugly. I purchased this product with my own money, and chose to write a review. Thank you!

Monday, September 26, 2011

Things coming up VERY soon...

Nu-Me review (I haven't forgotten... I will explain all of that when I do the review!)
A book review (I LOVE to read)
A book tour will be "stopping by" very soon!  (with a GIVEAWAY!!!)
A t-shirt company review (Should be in the next couple of days!)
A Halloween costume review (So excited!)
A jewelry review (and GIVEAWAY!!!)
An oral care review (and GIVEAWAY!)
A protein bar review (and GIVEAWAY!!!)
and more! Stay tuned! Big things are happening!

If you want to swap buttons, just snag my button, and leave me a comment that you did! I'll return the favor! Thanks!

Friday, September 23, 2011

True Birds giveaway!

A friend got an AWESOME giveaway, and I wanted to share it with you guys! True Birds is a jewelry and accessories company run by twin sisters. This company has received HUGE press because celebs LOVE their stuff! Taylor Swift has been spotted several times wearing the harmonica necklace... and guess which one is up for grabs?! The harmonica! Not only is this necklace adorable, it's FUNCTIONAL! How cool is that? And there will be FIVE winners! Go enter! Ends October 7!!!

groOrganic Garden Planner


On the groOrganic website, there's a tool called Garden Planner. This tool helps you plan your fruit and/or veggie garden, shows you how much space each plant requires for optimum growth and SO much more! If you're interested in growing your own fruits and vegetables, you should really check out this tool!


And here's an awesome video about groOrganic! 


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Oh my! You guys ROCK!!!

My young blog is VERY close to hitting 100 followers! Thank you guys SO much! I'm very excited about the things that are happening! And I know I've promised you guys a Nu-Me review, it's coming. This has been a CRAZY week. I've been working on new stuff, I also homeschool my daughter, and she's graduating tomorrow night to brown belt in martial arts!
Today is officially the last day of summer... I'm kind of sad about that. We spend most of the summer at the lake,  fishing or lounging by the pool, grilling out... I love summer! But I also love the colors and cooler temperatures of fall. What are you guys looking forward to about the new season? What are you going to miss about Summer?

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

New stuff coming soon!

I know I've made several posts today, but I've got lots to share with you guys! I'm very excited about some new giveaways and reviews coming up soon, and I'm working hard to get awesome stuff for you guys! Please continue to share my blog! I'd be very happy to swap buttons with any fellow bloggers! Just snag my code on the right, and leave a comment telling me you grabbed my button, and I will happily return the favor! Great things are happening quickly! Stay tuned! :^)

And the winner is...

Okay, there were only 4 complete entries... They are:

DIANNE DOE is Entry #1

jenni863 is Entry #2

Chloe is Entry #3

Gerry Masters is Entry #4

And the winner is...  DIANNE DOE! CONGRATULATIONS!!! I will contact you right now! You have 48 to claim your prize and give me mailing information, or I will have to select a new winner.  Thanks for the entries everyone!



FINALLY hit 50! $10 Wal-Mart Gift Card Giveaway is now closed!

Thank you guys SO much! You've helped me get to 50 followers! And, as promised, it's time for the $10 Walmart Gift Card Giveaway! I'm verifying the entries now, and I will make the announcement in just a few minutes! So excited! The winner will have 48 hours to respond and send me a mailing address, or a new winner will be chosen. Let you guys know in just a few!

Monday, September 19, 2011

Closing in on the big 5-0!!!

Yay! My blog is growing VERY quickly! Today is officially day 10 that I've been going, and I'm about to hit 50 followers! That's HUGE in my opinion! Thank you guys SO much for helping me grow! My first giveaway is for a $10 Wal-Mart Gift Card, once I reach 50 followers, and it's almost time! SO excited! So far, everyone who has commented is tied at one entry, and if that is the case when I hit 50, I will randomly select a number using random.org, and select the winner from that number in the order they commented. For example, if the number the generator selects is 50, then the person with the 50th comment would be the winner. If you want the extra entries, you've got to get your friends to follow and comment! Good luck!

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Captchas, Captchas EVERYWHERE!!!

Okay, here's a bit of a rant... I've been hopping tonight (blog hopping, if you don't know, is where you sign up and click to follow other bloggers, and they follow back) and I have been having no real issues with Captchas... Sure, there are a few that require a Captcha when you leave a comment, but for the most part, I've just dealt with it, and kept going. For the last 10 blogs, I've had to put in a Captcha to even FOLLOW a blog!!! What is this? Is this something I have done to make blogger think I'm spam? Or is this some setting I've accidentally changed for myself? Did blogger change while I hopped from one blog to the next, and start requiring a Captcha code for follows? Or is this some setting these bloggers have added to their accounts, and I've just gotten lucky enough to come across several in a row???
Okay, I've gotten that out of my system. LOL. Sorry, it's just a bit annoying to enter those stupid codes to do anything online anymore. I get that spamming is a real problem, but I'm not spamming. These blogs signed up for followers! I'm simply abiding by the rules of the hop!

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Nu-Me Review coming up soon...

Sorry, can't do a giveaway on this one, as this is something I purchased for myself, and I am NOT being compensated in any way for this review. I just purchased it today, so I want to try it out a few times before I write a review about it. Just wanted to let you guys know that there IS a review coming about it, in case you wanted to consider it for yourself. I purchased the Nu-Me Vintage Flat Iron in pink, and the 13mm Curling Wand. I will review each with before and after pics, and let you guys know if I think I wasted my money... I certainly hope I didn't! We shall see!

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

$10 Wal-Mart gift card GIVEAWAY!!! *CLOSED*

It's time for a giveaway!. This is going to be like a follower drive. I need everyone to share this blog, and get people to follow!

Here's how this works:

Comment telling me that you're following my blog via Google Friend Connect, and my Facebook fan page. One comment telling me all of this is fine. I also need a way to contact you, so please leave me an email address that you check regularly. If you don't want to leave it in a comment, just send me a message via Google Friend Connect :)

Then, get your friends to sign up and follow my blog via GFC, in the right sidebar, and "Like" my Facebook fan page. The more friends you can get to follow, the better!

Your friends then need to comment and tell me who sent them! This is SUPER important if you want to win!
The person with the largest contribution of readers will receive a $10 gift card to Wal-Mart! Winner will be chosen as soon as I reach 50 readers!

*Thank you SO much for helping me get to 50 followers! Please keep sharing, I've got some GREAT stuff coming up!*

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

TrueCare Review

Thanks to BzzAgent.com, I was able to review TrueCare for free with a 90-day trial. TrueCare is a social media monitoring tool parents can use to help them watch their child's activities on social networking sites such as Facebook. I always monitor my child's online activity, and she isn't supposed to accept friends, or look anyone up on Facebook. Notice I said that she isn't supposed to... If kids only did the things they were supposed to do, this would never be an issue!
 Because I knew my child's login email and password for Facebook, I was able to set up the monitoring very quickly and easily. Nothing to download, which is very helpful, because if you had to download the software, you wouldn't be able to monitor your child if they log in from a friend's house! With TrueCare, you get emails no matter where they are when they access Facebook. The email alerts tell you if your child is friends with any adults, if any of their messages or chats contain sexual references, bullying words, or any other frightening things you'd want to know about! And, you can customize the database of keywords, so the program searches for things that are important to you.
 I would like to believe that I always know what my child does on Facebook, but I'm a realist. I know that she's a child, and they try to do things they think you can't see. And I don't consider this an invasion of privacy at all, because she's a child. She shouldn't need privacy! I do recommend this product to anyone with children on social networks. Hopefully you never need it, but for peace of mind, it's great.

Saturday, September 10, 2011

First Review and a giveaway!

I'm working on my first review and giveaway! But I need more readers!!! Please share this blog with your friends. The more readers I have, the better the giveaways will be. The companies set the requirements, not me. Some of these companies with great products want hundreds or thousands of readers! If you want great giveaways, share my link! Thanks!

Friday, September 09, 2011

Product Reviews and Giveaways.

Okay, here's the deal.   I will be reviewing products so that my readers can know which products rock, and which ones don't. Here's my promise to my readers, and the companies I will be reviewing for. I will ALWAYS be honest... even if it means a bad review, I will be honest. I don't like lies and I don't like liars. I refuse to be one. I promise to give honest opinions on any product I review.

As for the giveaways... Well, I want to make people happy, and I like to receive free stuff, so I want to GIVE free stuff! I have some plans for giveaways, but I will discuss that a little later when I have something concrete. The first giveaway I do will definitely be based on the number of readers I have... Follow my blog, and you'll be in the know about product reviews and giveaways!