Monday, October 31, 2011

ConservingNow.com winner!

Another great giveaway has come to a close, and the winner has been chosen!

Entry #44 Brenda Witherspoon!

I've already contacted you via the email address you registered with, so make sure you respond with your address, and the bag of your choice from the designer collection at conservingnow.com! Check your spam folder if you don't see it.


Lizabettas Giveaway has one more day! Get those entries in!

Last day for ConservingNow.com!!!

Okay, so this is the last day for the ConservingNow.com giveaway! Win one of the beautiful and functional Envirsax Designer Bags!

http://tigereyes2001reviews.blogspot.com/2011/10/conservingnow.html



And don't forget to check out the other giveaways going on...

Lizabettas *ENDS 11/2*

Shoes Under *ENDS 11/3*

Perplexus *ENDS 11/15*


If you would like to swap buttons, please grab my button from my sidebar, and post it on your blog. Leave me a comment that you've done this, and I'll go snag yours! Thanks!

Perplexus Review & Giveaway!!!

I am so excited about this! PlaSmart allowed to review the Perplexus Original, which is one of the most awesome toys I've ever seen! It's extremely entertaining, sharpens focus and hand-eye coordination, and best of all, it requires no batteries! I have to be honest, I've probably played with this toy as much as my daughter has! Don't laugh... You'll be surprised at how fun it is! It's so challenging!

The Perplexus takes those flat ball mazes to a whole new level... Actually, quite a few levels!
Is this toy really as much fun as I say? Well, to find out if maybe it only appealed to us, we took it to karate with us one day. The kids were taking turns, and it was a HUGE hit! One of the mom's even went out and purchased one within a week! We even stayed an hour late because kids were still waiting their turn! I thought it was hilarious. These are great kids and very physically active, but they're still normal kids. Most of them (if not all) have some video gaming platform that they play with quite often. To see 20 kids scrambling over a toy that doesn't beep, or light up, or have any other form of electronic gadgetry was amazing! I'm just glad I took it on a slow day, or I might've had to move in! LOL
The Original is a lot of fun, but it's recommended for 6+... What if you don't have a child that old? Well, there are small parts, but they're inside the ball, so as long as it isn't broken, I would be fine letting a younger child play with it, though they may not be very good at it. There is a model for beginners, called Perplexus Rookie! It's for 4+, and is a great way to get started. Don't let these lower age levels fool you, though... Adults also find these toys VERY entertaining! 
And if these get too easy for you or your little ones, there's the Perplexus Epic! It's bigger than the other 2, and with much harder obstacles. Speaking of obstacles, the Rookie has 75, the Original has 100, and the Epic has 125! I'm actually looking at getting the Epic for my daughter for Christmas... Is it really for her or for me??? Hard to decide, but we can share!

Available in many toy stores, head to Perplexus.net to see where you can buy it! 

Win one here! PlaSmart has generously agreed to give one of you guys one of these awesome toys! And this would make a GREAT Christmas present! Or whatever holiday you celebrate. :)  

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Time to Hop!

Okay, I know last week was a little crazy, but this week will be better! And please post the button on your blog or hop directory, because the more it's seen, the more participation we get, and the more followers everyone will get!  Please grab the button from the sidebar on the right!

The rules are very simple...


1. Follow your hostesses:  Through the Eyes of a Tiger and My Crazy Life (mandatory)
2. Please add your link to the list... Main page only, please! This gets you more followers, gets the hop more notice, and gets you more followers! It's worth your effort! :)
3. Follow as many links as you like! Please leave a comment that you're following, so they can follow you back!
4. Feel free to add your Facebook and Twitter accounts on separate links, too!!!
5. Please add the hop button your sidebar or blog hops tab! This isn't mandatory, but GREATLY appreciated!







Friday, October 28, 2011

And the winner is...

Well, the Channing & Co Giveaway is over! Thank you SO much to everyone who participated!

So, who won? Well...

Entry #20: Allyson Bossie

Congratulations!

I've got a few giveaways going on right now, and they're all within a week! Make sure you're entered!

ConservingNow.com Giveaway *ENDS 11/1/11*

Lizabettas Giveaway  *ENDS 11/2/11*

Shoes Under Giveaway *ENDS 11/3/11*

And I've got some other stuff (I know, I know! LOL) that I WILL be posting before the weekend is out. Please help me get the word out about these giveaways! Thanks!

Thursday, October 27, 2011

One more day for Channing & Co!

Okay, there's less than 24 hours left on the Channing & Co giveaway! You don't want to miss out!

I'm still WAY behind, but I'm trying to catch up! Hopefully I'll get to take the pics I need tomorrow :)

I hope you guys are having a great week!!!

Monday, October 24, 2011

Shoes Under Review and Giveaway!

I was allowed to review the Shoes Under. Shoes under has 12 pockets for shoes, socks, whatever! It also has a clear plastic cover that zips closed, keeping all of your stuff safe from dust, while allowing you to see what's inside.


This is also great for helping kids stay organized. And it fits neatly at the bottom of your closet (as shown above) or under a bed! Store socks, shoes, toys, and all kinds of other things. I was actually surprised at how deep the pockets are. One of my husband's work boots (10 1/2 Extra Wide) will fit in one pocket! I was amazed! Of course, it's not all stiff and pretty like the one in the picture. I don't know if they starched that one or what... But, if it's hiding under my bed or in my closet, I really don't care if it's perfectly square like that. As long as it's functional, that's all I'm concerned with! It came all folded up, so it's wrinkled. Who cares? It works! 

And you can win one! 


EDIT: I added a link to their website, and a couple of new entry options, worth 5 entries each. Make sure you get those entries! :)

Lizabettas Review & Giveaway!

I was allowed to review one of the beautiful pieces from Lizabettas Etsy Shop! I really had a hard time picking which piece I wanted to review! I loved so many! Some of my favorites were the Musical Clef Necklace which features the treble clef, the Sheer Butterfly Necklace (LOVED the antique look of this one!), and the Heart Necklace which is a lovely bright heart over sheet music. I finally picked the Love Birds necklace, because of the beautiful little birds and their adorable little crowns! So cute!

I was surprised when it came... I was a bit worried about the size of it, but I LOVE it! It's one of my favorite things! I wear it quite often, actually. I love the detail on the back. It's very pretty.




Please ignore my nasty nails!



My pics do NOT do this necklace justice! I love it! I love the size of it, the domed glass, everything! The chain is 22" ball chain, and matches the metal in the pendant. I love the length :)

Head over to the Etsy shop and buy one! They would be great gifts for the upcoming holiday season!!!

Or, you can try to win one! Yep, there's a giveaway! One lucky person will win one of these awesome necklaces!

You must be a public follower on my blog, via Google Friend Connect. 

Sunday, October 23, 2011

ConservingNow

If you're looking to become more earth-friendly, you need to stop by ConservingNow.com! From single bags (including some beautiful designs!) to entire kits to get you started, you'll be amazed at the selection! There is something for everyone!

ConservingNow.com was started by a mother and daughter with a strong passion for the environment, so many issues are answered in one place. Then they realized a big problem, and came up with a GREAT solution! Most people buy these bags with great intentions, but then forget to use them! I know I'm certainly guilty. I really do try, but I end up leaving them at home or, if I remember to take them with me, I leave them in the car! It doesn't even hit me that I've forgotten them until I'm checking out, and then it's too late. They've come up with a simple yet effective solution. Car window clings to remind to you take your bags! When I saw those, I had such a "DUH!" moment! Like, why didn't I think of that?! LOL They also have door hangers for those of us who forget to put them in the car in the first place!



To get one of these window clings for free when you order, click this button link! I've also posted it at the bottom of my blog, in my Sponsors section! 
ConservingNow.com Free Car Window Static Cling Reminder

Okay, so... Are these bags really any better than the ones you can buy in the store? Well, I tried the Envirosax line, and here's what I think. First of all,  they're BEAUTIFUL! I picked the Animal Planet Butterfly bag, because I love the colors, and I think it's a lovely bag. I was honestly surprised at how small it was when it got here... It was all neatly folded into itself, and SO cute! You could easily fit at least 5 of these in your purse. And if you get the 5-in-1 pouches, you get 5 bags of a theme, with a matching pouch to carry them in! So cute. Okay, I forgot to mention that they fold! These bags are so cool... You can fold it in on itself, and it comes with attached straps that snap together and hold it closed. 



Please ignore my nasty nails and my scratched up lap desk. And that's a regular sized wireless mouse next to the bag :) 

Okay, I showed you how small it is rolled up... but how big is it when it's unrolled? I was thoroughly shocked! My 15" laptop fit inside with room to spare! The claim is that these bags can hold up to 44 lbs! I haven't tested this out, but this bag is pretty sturdy. I'd believe that. I'm not sure what it's made out of, but it feels strong. So... what does this bag look like opened up???


I think it's beautiful! Yes, I know it's wrinkled. LOL  Look how huge this bag is! And way better than those ugly ones at Walmart! LOL Here's what it looks like unwrinkled...
ConservingNow has much bigger ambitions than to be a store for your eco-friendly purchases... Their goals are threefold:

1. Change the behavior of adults. Specifically, they want adults to use reusable bags every time they shop.

2. Educate young people and their families about the harmful effects of plastic bags in our oceans and environment. They have classroom kits for this purpose, and they have SERIOUSLY discounted these kits so that classrooms can get them. You can even sponsor a classroom to receive one! And 100% of the profits from their products goes toward funding these kits for schools and/or to offset the costs of the window cling distribution! This is a company with a heart!

3. To create a community change blog... A one-stop resource for individuals, municipalities and corporations to find out what other areas of the country are doing either with environmental incentives or legislatively. To check out the blog, go to www.conservingnow.com/blog

Overall, I think this company is great. They have heart, and that's a rare thing in the business world. They're out for more than money, which I think is awesome! And they have come across a brilliant idea, which they could easily market, but have chosen to give them away! 

Buy the bags! 3-in-1 and 5-in-1 pouches, Slingsax, Minisax, and the rest of their shop!

OR... 

Win one! That's right! You can WIN one of the beautiful Envirosax bags! 

Sunday Drive Blog Hop!

Okay, this is my first time doing a blog hop, so bear with me, as this will probably change slightly as we go along... Please feel free to offer any suggestions or advice! I want you guys to feel just as much a part of this hop as I am!


The rules are very simple...

1. Follow your hostesses:  Through the Eyes of a Tiger and My Crazy Life (mandatory)
2. Follow the Blog of the Week (Starting in week 2) (mandatory)
3. Please add your link to the list... Main page only, please! This gets you more followers, gets the hop more notice, and gets you more followers! It's worth your effort! :)
4. Follow as many links as you like! Please leave a comment that you're following, so they can follow you back!
5. Feel free to add your Facebook and Twitter accounts on separate links, too!!!
6. Please add the hop button your sidebar or blog hops tab! This isn't mandatory, but GREATLY appreciated!


Because this is week 1, we don't have a Blog of the Week this week... However, if you're interested in being our "Blog of the Week", snag our hop button, place it in your sidebar, and let us know you did! We'll pick one each week. Should be a lot of fun, and an easy way to get mandatory follows! :)


Here's the button! Also found in the sidebar :)
Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere
<div align="center"><a href="http://tigereyes2001reviews.blogspot.com/2011/10/sunday-drive-blog-hop.html" title="Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere"><img src="http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn180/tigereyes2001/SundayDriveBlogHopimage-160x160-1.jpg" alt="Sunday Drive Around the Blogosphere" style="border:none;" /></a></div>


EDIT: We had some issues with the link up, so if you signed up with the inlinkz link up, please sign up with the Simply Linked one. We'll be using that one from now on. :)

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Charm Factory Winner!!!

Wow! Lots of entries on the Charm Factory Giveaway! They do have beautiful stuff, for sure! :)


The winner is... (drumroll)

Entry #3: Dianne Norman!

Congratulations!!! I'm emailing you right now, so make sure you check your spam folder if you don't see it!

Thanks so much for all of the participation! I'll have lots of great stuff coming up soon, so stay tuned!!!

Friday, October 21, 2011

Last Chance for Charm Factory!!!

Okay, today is the last day for my Charm Factory giveaway! Make sure you're entered! These are beautiful! It ends at midnight tonight! Here's a link: http://tigereyes2001reviews.blogspot.com/2011/10/charm-factory-review-and-giveaway.html


I've got SO much work to do to catch up... I hated being without my laptop, so you can't even imagine how ecstatic I am to be back up and going! LOL All of my stuff is on my laptop! I've got tons of pics to take and upload... It's just a bunch of stuff! LOL

I'm starting to use my Pinterest account, but I'm still not sure what to do with it... It kind of looks like Polyvore, but for everything else... I've added the Pin It button to my browser, so I'll start pinning stuff. :) The only thing I've pinned right now is the Perplexus I'll be reviewing VERY soon! So much fun! But I'll tell you ALL about that in the review. :)

If you'd like, I've posted my Pinterest button in my social networks links, so feel free to follow me! I hope you've all had a great week!

Don't forget to checkout the Orionids Meteor Showers!!!  http://meteorshowersonline.com/orionids.html

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Halloween Costume

I got my laptop adapter!!! SO happy! LOL And I found out today that we're going to Louisiana in a couple of months for my husband's company Christmas party!!! I'm excited! We never get to do this kind of stuff, so I was hoping they'd do another one :)

Okay, we also got the girl a Halloween costume. I hate that we couldn't find boxes that were perfect for it... They were too big, or not big enough... Anyway, here's the costume she picked! So excited, because I wanted her to wear this last year, but she didn't like it, and it didn't fit...


I'll take pics of her soon, but I've got a LOT of catching up to do over the next few days!!! 

Halloween costumes and laptop adapters...

No, I still haven't received my laptop adapter, but the tracking information shows that it is in my town, so hopefully I will get it today! And we've run out of time for finding boxes and getting her costume made, so we're down to buying a generic one. Oh well. I just hope there are a few good ones left! The costume party at the karate school is this weekend, and we're going to be super busy, so we've got to have a good one. And it's got to be sturdy because it will be worn a few times... I'll let you know what we got when we get back! Hope you're all having a great day!

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Things coming up...

I'm almost crazy without my laptop. My photo software is there, so I can't even make those digital scrapbook pages for my cousin without my laptop... A book I'm reviewing is on my laptop, so I can't finish reading it... I'm LOST... LOL 

I've got the following reviews/giveaways coming up soon (after my plug comes in)

Envirosax
Perplexus
Crazy Dog Tshirts
Real Kids Shades
TheraBreath
Book review of "The Soul Reader"
and MUCH more...

So there's a lot coming up on my blog! :) Stay tuned!

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Giveaways...

I've been working on some great stuff, and as soon as my new laptop charging adapter gets here (I've only checked on the shipping status 505435454 times!) I will get back to posting up the goodies! Until then, please make sure you're entered into the giveaways I've got going on!


Charm Factory   (ENDS 22nd)

Channing & Co  (ENDS 28th)


Thanks! And share my blog with your friends! If you grab my button and put it on your blog, I'll gladly return the favor!!!

Monday, October 17, 2011

Complete Dependency

Okay, I want to apologize up front. I'm going to be a bit limited for the next few days. I have some reviews and giveaways that I need to be doing right now, but my laptop adapter plug died... I've already ordered a new one, but you would be amazed at how completely dependent I am on my laptop. All of my stuff is on there (I keep all of my email addresses and correspondence in a folder on my laptop) and pictures for the reviews and giveaways are on there as well... So, until my new adapter gets here (I've already received my tracking number, but no updates are available yet) I am extremely limited on what I will be able to blog about for a few days. :(  It amazes me how much I depend on (read: I am addicted to) my laptop... I miss it (withdrawals) and I can't wait to get my adapter! LOL

Are there any electronic devices you just absolutely have to keep handy? I know I'm not the only one in dire straits when the laptop is incapacitated. So tell me... what's your gadget of choice?

Saturday, October 15, 2011

I hate moving...

I really do hate it. You never realize how much stuff you have until you have to pack it up and move it to another location. I hate it. But, today is the day we're moving. Yes, day. We're moving EVERYTHING in one day. :( And I've got a baby shower to go to! Moving today, cleaning tomorrow, and making sure everything is perfect. So much fun. But, it's almost over! I think we've got 2 more loads? 3? At any rate, we're over halfway there... All of the big pieces are out, now it's dishes and stuff like that.

Okay, yesterday I made a post about Blog Hops, and I'm looking for feedback on blog hops. I really want you guys to participate in the structure of the hop... It may change as we go, and find what works best for everyone... Please make sure you're opinion is known so that we have a great hop! If there's something you REALLY hate about hopping, here's your chance to get it off your chest...

The only comment on that post at this moment is about GFC... Well, I hate it too! It is about as consistent as the weather, and it's annoying. I've tried to make sure that you have several ways to access my GFC so that you can follow me even when that widget is being stupid. I've kept the NavBar at the top, because it's supposed to put you on GFC when you click follow... As my friend learned yesterday, sometimes this is flaky, too, but it is more consistent than the GFC sidebar widget. I've also added the social bar at the bottom of my blog, as another option. If you're concerned about your GFC widget, I suggest you add this bar, as it is also connected to Google Friend Connect. I think people don't really know about it because Blogger doesn't have a widget for it... You have to get it directly from Google Friend Connect. But, maybe if you post about it, too... LOL

I also mentioned in my original Blog Hops post, using links only... What do you think? I like the images, but they take up too much room in my opinion. But if this is the most popular option, I'd gladly use it... I really want everyone to feel like this is YOUR hop... I'm also considering a guest host of the week kind of thing? Would you be interested in that? Let me know! Thanks!

EDIT: Fixed the Social Bar link! Sorry about that! :)

Friday, October 14, 2011

Blog Hops...

Okay, I'm still working on setting up a blog hop (if it's ready, it will be up Sunday, but with everything else going on {moving, baby shower for Baby Preston...} I hope you'll forgive me) and I want to kind of explain what I've understood blog hops to be. You guys all get to be involved, because I want you all to participate.

Personally, I prefer the ones with links only. The little images are great, but it takes a lot of space, and they just look more clean to me with links only.

If you link up, you are agreeing that WANT more followers, and that they can comment on your blog to tell you they are following and that you will follow back. I personally provide a link in my comments to make it easier for the blogger to follow back. Just a simple click in their comment, and they're on my page. If you don't want people to comment on your blog and ask for a follow back, don't bother. This isn't to be mean, it's just a MAJOR part of blog hopping. A friend of mine was just accused of USING another blog to promote her own... Now, I don't want to call anyone out, but this person only has 40 followers anyway... My friend has over 250... She doesn't need to USE people's blogs to promote her own. Besides, she found this page through a BLOG HOP!!! I don't want any of my hoppers treating people this way. Please, if you link up (and I REALLY hope you will) accept the comments from other hoppers without thumbing your nose at them.

If you guys have any suggestions, I'd LOVE to hear them! What do you like about hops? What do you hate? I want this to be your favorite hop!!! Thanks!

AppleBabyBows Review & Giveaway

AppleBabyBows is personalized photo jewelry... Here's the one my friend chose...


and on the other side...


Those pics are her gorgeous daughter! Such a cutie! :)

This is also a giveaway!!! The winner would receive their choice of photo jewelry (up to $25)! If you'd like to get in on this giveaway, head over to her blog and enter!


Bryton Picks


Bryton Picks are flexible stainless steel flossing picks that allow you to floss in seconds! I was a bit concerned about the stainless steel part, but when I got them, I was pleasantly surprised at how thin and flexible it is. They claim to be as thin as floss, and while I can't measure for the exact size, I can tell you they are extremely thin and comfortable between the teeth.

Because they're stainless steel, you can clean them after use and reuse them for up to 30 days... Still not exactly sure about this, but stainless steel isn't porous, so germs can't get into the metal, but I still used the hottest water I could get out of the faucet. The pouch that it comes in could fit in a credit card slot in your wallet, but it doesn't close, so I didn't trust it to stay put. 



Overall, I would buy these... they're easy to use (once you get the hang of it) and comfortable. We have used them repeatedly, but not for 30 days, so I don't know about the durability.  The website says that this will vary depending on the shape and space between the teeth. I guess if you're teeth are too close together, or have sharp edges, the picks won't last as long, but I don't know for sure. 




I have to admit that I'm NOT a fan of their new ad campaign. They're calling them "Quicky's" and I just don't see the need for such a tasteless tactic. That's just my opinion. 


*Disclaimer: I received this item from the company I reviewed, as part of their Blogger Review program. A review was requested, but in no way was I asked or expected to give them anything other than an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."*

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Supreme Protein Bars Giveaway Winners!!!

Wow! 156 entries in the Supreme Protein Bars Giveaway! Awesome!!! Thanks! And now to announce the winners! You have 48 hours to respond to the email I've already sent each of you, so please make sure you check your spam folders if you don't see it! Okay, here goes!!!


Entry #52- Erin Mize
Entry #81- Yvonne Lim
Entry #122- Pauline Tan

Congratulations!



*EDIT*  I wasn't informed that the company would only ship US, so I'm forced to pick 2 new US winners. I'm very sorry about this, and I wish there was something I could do... I do wish they had mentioned this BEFORE I sent them the winners... I could've restricted the giveaway to the US... I'm extremely upset about this, so I'll shut up now.


NEW winners: (Pending US addresses)

Entry #150  Emma Peel

Entry #55  Tammy Lynch Sigond

I'm very sorry to my non-US readers... I didn't know.

One More Day!!!

The Supreme Protein Giveaway ends at midnight! If you haven't already entered, please get over there and enter. I can't even explain how yummy these were! This is NOT your average protein bar! So good! Anyway, just wanted to give you a head's up that this one is ending, and you have to be in it to win it!!!

Today is FINALLY Thursday! What a week! I've still got to make those digital scrapbook pages for my cousin (yeah, I don't scrapbook in real life, but I'll make one on the computer. LOL) and her shower is Saturday! And we've still got quite a ways to go before we're all moved out... FUN! LOL

Here are some links to the other giveaways I have going on!

Charm Factory (ENDS 10-22)

Channing & Co (ENDS 10-28)

Have fun and good luck!

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Channing & Co Review and Giveaway!

Okay, I have to admit it... I have a serious thing for Jon Bon Jovi, and the band Bon Jovi! When I was browsing through the page for Channing & Co, and I saw the Shot Thru the Heart necklace, my mind went immediately to Bon Jovi (and Jon) and I had to have it!

Here are some pics from their site, showing just a few of their items!

I think these are beautiful!





I love their Little Girls wrap bracelets! 




And how cute is the Rose Gold Skull Pearl Bracelet???


I can't forget the packaging that my necklace came in! How cute is this? All wrapped up in a bright pink ribbon with some funky little skulls on it! LOVED it!





I LOVE it!!! So awesome!



 I've had quite a few comments on this item, and I have to admit, I love talking about it! I tried to show the fact that there is a hole in the heart, but I'm not sure how well  you can see that...

Anyway, there IS a hole right through the heart. The chain is very cute with little balls down the length. I love the size of it. It's big enough to be seen, but not TOO big. A good size comparison is the pic with my thumb. One of my absolute favorites! 

And now, for the part you're all going to LOVE!!! Channing & Co have generously agreed to sponsor a giveaway!

Winner chosen!

My first giveaway is over, and the winner has been chosen! I love Rafflecopter. LOL Anyway, congratulations to the winner, Brenda Witherspoon, entry number 30! You have 48 hours to respond to the email I've already sent you! (make sure you check your spam folder)  Thanks everyone for participating, and I can't wait for future giveaways!

Make sure you're in my other giveaways!

Ending Thursday, October 14!


Ending Saturday, October 22!

And now I'm ready to post up another great giveaway! In the morning! LOL

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Baby Preston

My cousin was due to have her baby boy right around Thanksgiving... Things didn't quite go according to plan, and at the end of August, little Preston entered the world. Weighing just under 3 pounds, and only 15 inches long, he was a tiny bundle of joy! Our family has been EXTREMELY blessed to watch (thank God for Facebook!) this tiny little miracle grow and reach milestone after milestone! He's had a practically perfect life, in preemie standards. He's gained weight beautifully, hit all of his milestones in record time!

He's now almost 8 weeks, and doing SO well! They're prepared to send him home in a week! Such great news. :) And since the baby shower is  this coming weekend, the timing couldn't be better! His mommy and daddy will have all of the stuff they needed to get to take care of this wonderful bundle of bouncing baby boy, and we will all get to celebrate not only his birth, but his homecoming! So excited! I'm working on a few big picture collages for his mommy (shh, it's a surprise) and then I'll share one when I'm done with them (hopefully before the weekend, but with the move... I'm trying!) I absolutely can't wait to meet this little guy!!! No, I've never met him... He's only allowed to visit with immediate family in the NICU, so I can't see him yet. But SOON! :)






LAST CHANCE!

Well, today has certainly been a busy one! In the middle of everything else we have going on, we're moving this week, so it's been pure CRAZINESS around here! LOL

Okay, I wanted to post that today is the absolute last day to snatch up that cute tote bag from the Tuck Your Skirt Blog Tour! Head over HERE to snag an entry for this bag! I don't know about you, but I never have enough totes! Besides, you can always take it to the store and use it in place of those plastic ones!!!



Don't forget to stop by the Supreme Protein Bars giveaway, ending on Friday, October 14th! Still under 100 entries! :)

Also, I've still got the Charm Factory giveaway going, until Saturday, October 22nd! Also under 100 entries!

And tomorrow, after I announce the winner of the tote bag, I'll post up another giveaway and review!

I hope you're all having a great week! I know I am! I'm about to make another post all about my baby cousin, and the great news we received today! :)

Monday, October 10, 2011

I know, I know...

I said I'd put up another giveaway this past weekend, but I have another Giveaway ending Wednesday, so I'm waiting. While you wait for that new Giveaway (and it's AWESOME, btw!!!) go enter the ones I've already posted. They're all together under the Giveaways link at the top! Easy peasy!

Today is also Columbus Day, and the day we'd already planned to start school again, so we're going to learn about Columbus' trip to America! I'll put more on my homeschool blog if you're interested. LOL

We're already 1/3 of the way through this month! Where is time going? It's like it's passing WAY too quickly, and I'm missing it... Well, my daughter didn't get the costume she was supposed to, so we've decided to go with a different one entirely. We have to MAKE it. Not a really big deal, but we're running out of time. If not for the costume contest at karate, we'd just buy a simple costume and be done with it. But we have EVENTS to go to... that sounds so funny! There's the costume party at karate... a big haunted house and party at our local Shriners Temple, and of course actually going out to Trick-or-Treat/Trunk-or-Treat... BUT, we always have a blast! And as long as she's having fun, we'll continue! I'll give you a hint about her costume... It's a famous scene from an older "scary" movie... The movie wasn't really scary... LOL I guess for the 1930's it was. :)

I'm also working on the blog hop I mentioned the other day. Coming up with a button image (I have the name and concept) and then once I have that, setting it up won't be a big deal. Hoping to start it this weekend! (It will be a Sunday hop) and I'll ask to have it placed in the hop libraries and directories I know about, so we can get a lot of participation! Pretty excited! Also thinking about having a blog of the week that will be in the required follows. Just throwing out some ideas. :) Hope you're all having a great Monday!!!


MorgueFile.com User: earl53

EDIT: Would you believe I forgot all about the Oktoberfest karate demo?! And on top of all of this, she's going to karate 5 days a week in preparation for a tournament in November! Wow... 

Sunday, October 09, 2011

One Month!!!

Wow! This blog is exactly one month old! I started this on September 9th with a promise to always be honest, and I've said VERY little about myself... Well, I will now reveal 10 random things about me!

1. My favorite color is purple, but pink is a very close second.

2. I played softball for 9 years

3. I like to paint designs on my nails

4. I've had 2 broken bones... both in my left arm.

5. My hair is naturally dark blonde

6. I played the clarinet in marching band

7. I like most musical genres... Classical, jazz, pop, swing, metal, rock, country... LOL

8. We have 2 dogs... Jacques (named for Jacques Cousteau) is a Poochon (Bichon Frise/Poodle mix) and Adora is an (adora)ble shih tzu!

9. I got my first gray hair when I was 13.

10. I have gray eyes, but they change to blue (even dark blue) depending on my mood and health.




I know this isn't impressive by any means, but I intend to do a bigger one when I reach 2 months, and then 100 questions at 6 months! :) Hope you're all having a great weekend! Make sure you're in all of the giveaways!!!

Saturday, October 08, 2011

Charm Factory Review and Giveaway!!!

Charm Factory is a great company for charms and beads. They have beautiful European Beads, Sterling Silver Charms, and even Twilight Inspired Charms!


European Beads


You can completely customize your own bracelet, right down to the beautiful links that separate the beads... Called Luv Links, these come in a variety of styles, sizes and materials that you can pick and choose from! You have tons of options, and I know I could just look at all of their different beads for hours! So many options! I've already visualized several bracelets I would love to have. Definitely want a Twilight bracelet, a beach bracelet, one with my family's birthstones... this list may actually be endless. LOL

For my review, I received the lovely Pink and White bracelet. It has a Luv Link Snake Chain. They put these larger end pieces on the ends of the chain, so you don't have to worry about losing your beads when you put your bracelet on or take it off.


GIVEAWAY!!!
Winner will get to choose a bracelet from this group, in 7 ½", 8", or 9". These bracelets are beautiful, and I've received several comments about mine already!

Friday, October 07, 2011

Coming up this weekend...

Bryton Picks review

Charm Factory Review and Giveaway!!!

Channing & Co Review and Giveaway!!!


What do you guys think about blog hops? I'm thinking about starting one, but I want to make sure there's an interest before I spend a lot of time on name and graphics and whatnot... Let me know what you think!

Thursday, October 06, 2011

NuMe Review: Part 2- Curly

NuMe!!!

First, I want to apologize that it has taken a couple of weeks to get this up... If you've recently started learning how to use a curling wand, you'll understand part of the problem. LOL




This review is on the NuMe 13mm Curling Wand. Sometimes known as "Baby Curls" because it creates tight curls, but it can also create a "crimped" look. Inside the box, you get the 13mm Curling Wand, and a black glove, intended to help you learn how to use the curling wand without burning yourself. This glove is in NO way completely heatproof, and you WILL feel the heat through the glove, but the glove allows you to get closer to the wand. 

Using a curling wand is a tricky process, no doubt. If you've only used a curling iron with the clip that holds the hair around the barrel, it's a learning process. Having never used a curling wand before my NuMe wand, I had NO idea what I was doing, and took my time learning, thus escaping without any burns!!! That's been a big part of the holdup on this review. I don't want to burn myself! LOL

Some of the advantages of a wand vs an iron is that you don't have to worry about which direction you curl in. You'll never get that odd flip that you get when you curl the wrong way with an iron. You can also get tighter ringlet curls, if you so choose. 

This wand gets EXTREMELY hot, so it only take a few seconds to achieve curls. Literally 3-5 seconds. I didn't use any products in my daughter's hair. The tight curls were cute, but I separated them and they relaxed a little into very pretty waves. Actually, as the day went on, her hair got even prettier! She loved it. She said it looked like Taylor Swift's hair. LOL

























The Good:
Versatile styling product
Heats very quickly
Has a swivel cord
Comes with the glove
Makes beautiful curls or waves
Gets very hot and will curl hair extremely quickly

The Bad:
Hard to learn
Gets EXTREMELY hot, and could burn your skin and hair quickly.
Time consuming

I know, I said it curls very quickly, but then I said it's time consuming... I bought the small one on purpose, but it takes a LONG time to curl all of the hair. This isn't something I would want to do on a daily basis, because of the time it took. It took me approximately 30 minutes to curl all of her hair. 


Overall:
I would recommend this wand to anyone wanting to achieve tight curls, or pretty waves. I do have to say that it would probably be easier to just get a perm, but for special occasions, this is PERFECT. For everyday, maybe you should get a perm, or settle for bigger curls. :)

**Disclaimer- I purchased this item for my own use, and was not given any compensation for a review. The opinions expressed are my own. Thank you!**

Wednesday, October 05, 2011

Sugar Shop Sweets Review!!!

  I am SO excited to tell you guys about this company! They are absolutely adorable, and I LOVE them!!! They are Sugar Shop Sweets, and they really are super sweet! My daughter picked the 100% Sweet shirt, and I was SO surprised when it came in the mail! I opened the package, and immediately smelled bubble gum... Inside the package, they'd enclosed a few pieces of bubble gum and a couple of little suckers! And a hand-written note card... How sweet is that?




  The t-shirt is absolutely adorable. The colors are beautiful, and the little lady bug on her shirt is precious! I honestly can't say enough good things about this company, and they have a customer in me! I'm actually planning to get my daughter this shirt for Christmas! She's actually at the right size to shop from either the Sweet Tees (womens) or the Mini Sweets (girls)! They also have adorable tank tops and accessories!

  I know I've told you guys repeatedly that I will ALWAYS be honest, and I don't want you to think that this extremely positive review is false in ANY way... I absolutely, positively LOVE this company! Those little personal touches (the candy and hand-written note) were completely unexpected, and a wonderful surprise! Just a special little touch! :)


She loves the shirt (and her hair) but she was a bit done with me taking pictures of her. LOL. Gotta love that tween thing.


*Disclaimer: I received this item from the company I reviewed, as part of their Blogger Review program. A review was requested, but in no way was I asked or expected to give them anything other than an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."*

Tuesday, October 04, 2011

Costume Supercenter

  WOW... I guess I'm officially a blog reviewer now... I've come across my first douchebag company... And I feel like they broke the champagne bottle over my head... He "lost" my emails (after agreeing to the review, and asking me to select a costume) and then tried to treat me like I'm stupid by saying I never received a costume because I never requested one. YES, I did. I will post a screen capture of every single email for you guys to see. I'm feeling generous. :D

Album with all of the emails

  So, did I receive the costume they agreed to send me? NO. After going back and forth with this guy, he finally backed out.  I gave the company an opportunity to correct this situation, but they refused... After all, they DID agree to a review... Unlike them, I'm fulfilling MY end of the agreement.

  Since I have no costume to review, I guess I can review their company as a whole. Well, the SEO Manager, let's just call him... Carl (he signs his emails with one name, but is known in the company by the same first name, but a different last name. That's not shady at all...) is a douche. He lost my emails, and then broke my 10 year old daughter's heart. When he said I needed to pick a costume, I let her in on it, and let her choose the costume. She had her heart set on a particular costume, which was in stock when I sent the email requesting it. When I emailed for a status update, he had "no record of our conversations" and the costume is now out of stock. She picks another one. After my child picked a SECOND costume, he backs out of the review completely. I don't know about you guys, but this mama has a serious case of "mama bear syndrome" and you do NOT hurt my child physically, mentally or emotionally. Now she's extremely disappointed, and I have "Carl" to thank for that.

  Also, this same "Carl" is the SEO manager of another website, also selling costumes, just under a different name AND with different prices... That's not suspicious at ALL... If you find yourself on a website called Costume Supercenter or Wholesale Costume Club, SERIOUSLY reconsider your purchase. Remember the old adage that you get what you pay for, and pay a few extra bucks for a company that doesn't get their jollies from crushing 10 year olds... TWICE.
Thank you so much Mr "Carl" for the initiation... I feel like a real blogger now... And here I could call you an entire list of names, but I won't. We all know what you are.

As for the company itself? Well, I called them to see if they were willing to make this thing right, and allow me to review a product. I informed them they had agreed to the review, and would receive one... It would be nice if I had more than their company policy to review. She blew me off, and promised to call me before the close of the business day... I don't know about you guys, but I consider that to be 5PM... I even gave them until 6PM before calling back to demand an explanation. Yes, demand. At this point, I'm LIVID. They wouldn't even speak to me, even though I went out of my way to remain civilized... Unfortunately, I didn't maintain this same level of civility after they didn't call me back, and I had to call them again... I have given them EVERY opportunity to make this right, but they have refused. So now, I will post my frustrations, and buy my daughter the costume she deserves from PARTY CITY!!!  That's right! I'm even plugging the competition!!! Treat your customers (and reviewers) better, "Carl!"



Edit: Just looked up the addresses... Wholesale Costume Club doesn't list their address... I had to find it online. Well, I found out why. Not only are Costume Supercenter and Wholesale Costume Club handled by the same SEO manager, they're in neighboring towns in New Jersey... So, I decided to use Google Earth and find out. Wholesale Costume Club's headquarters are located in a UPS Store... Which means they have a PO Box with UPS. This UPS Store is located 3 miles (as the crow flies) from Costume Supercenter's Headquarters. Hmm... I will let you guys draw your own conclusions there... :)

Another edit: According to their page with the Better Business Bureau, Costume Discounters is also the same company... hmmm

**Disclaimer: Because I was promised a product to review, but never received one, and was subsequently treated like an idiot and then ignored, I have posted my review of their company... It's NOT because they backed out of the review, I've had others do that, too... It's because of the WAY they backed out. In their approval of my review request, I was asked to only give a fair and honest review. And there you have it. Enjoy!**

Tuck Your Skirt in Your Panties and Run Blog Tour

Today we have author Lucy Adams stopping by on her virtual book tour, showing off her newest book, "Tuck Your Skirt in Your Panties and Run!"





Ever laughed when you knew you shouldn't? Battled with Satan over chocolate? Forgotten to wear lipstick to the Garden Club meeting? Tried to define variorium? At times like these, what else can you do but Tuck Your Skirt in Your Panties and Run?
In her much awaited second book, Tuck Your Skirt in Your Panties and Run, award winning writer Lucy Adams, author of If Mama Don't Laugh, It Ain't Funny, takes readers on a roller-coaster ride through life's most embarrassing moments and delivers them safely on the other side. In her usual form, Adams gives readers an eye-watering, nose-snorting, giggling gift of a good time.
Join a 40 year-old bridesmaid on her journey to walk down the aisle, delve into a magnolia massacre, attend a hawg killin' with the communists, do some island living country style, and inflict vicarious revenge on the inventor of the balloon. Adams's wit will make you turn around and check your own underwear. Best of all we each can relax in the realization that we're not the only ones running with our skirts tucked in our panties.


Here's an excerpt from her book...


Emergency Fashion 

“If I fall off of this ladder,” I told my husband, “brush my hair, paint my toenails, freshen my lipstick, and dress me in something cute before taking me to the emergency room or, heaven forbid, the morgue,” as if a guy who claims he can’t do the detail painting could pull black silk slacks over a protruding broken bone without ripping them, or slip me into my white blouse with the three-quarter length sleeves without getting head-wound blood on it.

“What’s wrong with what you have on?” he asked, serious as a felony.

I weebled the ladder back toward the mirror. “Look at me! This shirt is faded, I’m splattered with paint, and my ponytail is lopsided. I can see my purple drawers through that hole in the seat of my pants.”

Recalling advice I supplied my own mother, in my infinite 13 year-old wisdom, back when she was my age, I replied “Not jeans.”

“But I like you in jeans,” he said.

“That’s what worries me.”

“How about a skirt,” he suggested.

“Make sure it’s not too short. The black one with white polka-dots that hits at mid-knee would look great. Pair it with the shirt gathered at the bodice.”

“I have no clue what you’re talking about. Just trust me to make a good decision.”

“You’ll dress me in something that looks good to you, or, worse, something you’ve always wanted me to wear. There’s no telling what those ER folks will think we’ve been up to. Not painting, that’s for sure.”

“No boots,” I continued. “Unless they have a low-profile heel.”

“Bodice? Low profile? What the?”

“Comfortable, closed-toe shoes are probably best.”

“You’ll be on your back,” he reminded me.

“The tunnel to the light might be long,” I reminded him. “There may well be a whole lot of walking in the afterlife and I sure don’t want to go  limping in looking like a hussy. Which brings us to undergarments.”

“You want me to change your underwear?”

“Listen,” I commanded. “Put me in plain, white Hanes for Her with the elastic intact.” Seeing a gleam in his eye, I added, “I won’t think it one bit funny if I come-to getting sawed in half by a thong.”

“I tell you what,” he offered, fed up with emergency fashion, “come on down off that ladder and go freshen your lipstick and put on your crisis panties. I’ll finish this.”

Disaster averted.



Please go to Amazon and snag this book! http://www.amazon.com/Tuck-Your-Skirt-Panties-Run/dp/1935602063/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1317738574&sr=8-1


And now, without further ado, the giveaway! Author Lucy Adams has generously agreed to giveaway a tote bag to a lucky winner!


Monday, October 03, 2011

Supreme Protein Bars Review & Giveaway!!! *CLOSED*

I had the chance to review Supreme Protein Bars. Because I pride myself on my honesty and integrity, and I want you guys to know that you can always trust me to tell you the truth, I will start by telling you a little bit about my personal health and fitness...
  I'm overweight, and I have tried several diets. The most recent one I've read about (that made a lot of sense) made a big deal about eating protein. It's supposed to fill you up faster, and keep you full longer. After the last time I tracked my meals, I realized a major pattern... I'm ALWAYS significantly low on my protein intake. I was using sparkpeople.com to track this, and I realized I was never even CLOSE to reaching the recommended amount of protein. I even started TRYING to eat more protein (still staying away from protein bars because they're NASTY), I couldn't quite make my goals, but I was getting closer.
  Now, having told you all of this, I want to say that I decided to try the Supreme Protein for a couple of reasons. My main goal was to find a protein bar that I could tolerate. Not even like... Just tolerate. I never expected to LOVE the taste of a protein bar! I was extremely skeptical when I read their flavors. Whoever heard of a protein bar (or anything really healthy or nutritious) that came in ice cream flavors? Rocky Road Brownie? Cookies 'n Cream??? Really?
  The second reason I wanted to try them was because I have a plan... If I can find a source of protein that I can tolerate, I would like to go back to being a vegetarian. I loved it! I felt great, and I was losing a ton of weight... But I wasn't getting enough protein BEFORE I tried to be a vegetarian. I certainly wasn't getting enough without meat (even though I was still eating eggs) and my doctor demanded that I go back to meat or suck it up on protein bars or shakes. Well, I can't make myself eat something that tastes like... I can't even describe it.
  I'm telling you all of this because I want you to understand that I'm NOT going to be able to "suck it up" and eat something that is gross. I can't make myself do it. So, be assured when I tell you these aren't your average protein bar!


  My absolute favorite was the Rocky Road Brownie, followed VERY closely by the Cookies 'n Cream. I wasn't really fond of the Peanut Butter and Jelly flavor, because the jelly isn't grape. I prefer grape jelly. This was more of a mixed fruit or mixed berry flavor. Kinda hard to describe, but my hubby liked it.

Here's the breakdown:

Peanut Butter and Jelly
The thick layer of peanut butter on the inside is kind of a chewy nougat-y consistency.
The jelly is a thin layer on top of the peanut butter layer, and is really more of a preserves consistency.
There is a crispy rice-like topping (similar to the crispy rice found in candy bars)
And then the whole thing is covered in a thinner layer of peanut butter.
-Like I said, this isn't my favorite. I cut the bar open, and tasted each individual layer, and it was definitely the jelly that I didn't like. The peanut butter was REALLY good... Maybe they can make one with grape jelly. LOL
Brighter pic, but farther away
Darker pic, but closer

Peanut Butter and Jelly bar

                           





Cookies 'n Cream
Chewy brownie-like center
Thin marshmallowy layer
Chocolate crispy rice bits on top
Chocolate coating
-I loved this one! Doesn't taste exactly like the ice cream, but it's REALLY good! The chocolate is REALLY good!
Crumbly goodness!
Closer shot of the middle

Cookies N' Cream
Rocky Road Brownie
This is my absolute favorite!!!
The brownie layer is chewy
There's a creamy (possibly marshmallow cream) layer
Crunchy almonds on top
Covered in rich chocolate.
- This one is SO good!
SO delicious!
Check out that brownie!


Rocky Road Brownie








Overall: I don't know anything about the nutritional value of these bars, but I do know that getting 15g of protein (Rocky Road Brownie) or 30g (Peanut Butter and Jelly, Cookies 'N Cream) in one source is awesome. They have other flavors, too, but these were the ones I tried. I can vouch for taste. This is NOT your average protein bar! You will WANT to eat these!!! I'm going to try eating these BEFORE dinner, and see if they help me eat less, too!

Now for the BEST part!!! They have generously agreed to give THREE winners 1 box each! How awesome is that?!?!